quality bedroom/practice bass amp?

Amps, Cabs, Effects, Pickups, Onboard Preamps

quality bedroom/practice bass amp?

Postby Stuyvesant on 23 Apr 2009, 12:17

this is a question iv asked so many times and I still haven't gotten any -real- answers.

I want a quality practice amp, I tend to play quietly alone in my room alot and don't want to shake the room down: but 99% of practice amps are absolutely terrible.

Semi-recently iv managed to find a few semi-suitable amps....

* marshal MB-15 (apparnently average at best)

* Orange Crush Crush 20B (or 35B) (I have no experience with these but iv heard good things, cant find one to play either)

* Line 6 Lowdown 15w (no idea... retail seems to be pretty high on em & from experience line 6 make some decent gear)

anyone played any of these or have advice on where I might find one to play a few lines on in person?
Stuyvesant

Re: quality bedroom/practice bass amp?

Postby ROON on 23 Apr 2009, 13:13

I wouldn't say that 99% of prac amps are terrible, there are loads of good options out there. I can't help you with any of those three, but I'd highly recommend a Roland CUBE, they use them for demo amps at my local instrument store.
- Josh
ROON

Postby Lukas86 on 23 Apr 2009, 13:26

The Roland cube is definately a good option, it has built in effects and you can get a 100watt version. I guess it depends on how much you want to spend in terms of quality. I myself have a warwick blue cab, which is great for practice by myself, but no where near loud enough for band practice.
If I had a bit to spend, I'd go with something from Markbass, probably around the 250-300watts combos (and they are super light!). But you will probably be looking at around 700-1200 new.
Lukas86

Postby Aussie Mark on 23 Apr 2009, 13:37